Login/Register ZWS

RIAS Awards enter your circular design construction project

Entries to the RIAS / RIBA Awards for Scotland 2020 are open. Now in their ninth year, the combined RIAS / RIBA Awards continue to demonstrate the quality and breadth of current architectural endeavor in Scotland

How to enter

All entry forms must be received by the SUBMISSION DEADLINE of Thursday 20 February 2020 (23.59). The early bird rate offers a 10% discount on the entry fee and is available until Thursday 6 February 2020 (23.59)

Register for free via the Eventbrite page and check the award information and criteria to see that you are eligible to enter.

Following registration, you will receive an email with a link to the online submission form and information on how to make payment for your submission.

The RIAS Council, in agreement with the RIBA, established a 'one-stop' submission process in 2012. The RIAS Awards will run alongside the RIBA Regional Awards. Entries submitted are now eligible to win the RIAS Awards, RIAS Special Category Awards, RIBA National Awards and RIBA Special Awards. Winners will also be eligible for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award and the RIBA Stirling Prize.

The RIAS Awards are supported by Historic Environment Scotland, Scottish Forestry, Wood for Good and Zero Waste Scotland.


The RIAS / Zero Waste Scotland Award for Circular Design

Award criteria

To be shortlisted for this award the project must demonstrate the following:

A collaborative approach has been taken by the client and design team to deliver a low embodied carbon building, ideally including contractors at an early stage

The design and procurement approach should have taken in to account the whole life cost of the building throughout its decision-making, ideally including its future maintenance, repair, retrofit and deconstruction

The design should have taken into account the health and wellbeing of the occupants

In addition the design should have a strong focus on at least one of the following design objectives:

  • Deconstructability
  • Adaptability
  • Long life/loose fit
  • Lean/resource efficiency
  • Design out waste
  • Natural, heathy materials
  • Carbon sequestration
  • Design for material banks
  • Use of recycled materials
  • Use of pre-used or surplus materials
  • The use and consideration of the "layers" concept.

A project will also be given special consideration if in addition to the above it

  • Involved the use of BIM or other digital technology to reduce waste,
  • Used modern methods of construction (off-site) or modularisation
  • Incorporated best practice site waste management planning throughout the project
  • Incorporates the use/concepts of material passports and buildings as material banks
  • Incorporates the use of innovative digital technology that will contribute to resource efficient and low whole life carbon
  • Involved the use of sustainable procurement clauses or delivery mechanisms (eg leasing)
  • It is not an isolated one-off build but the design, ways of working and lessons learnt have the potential to be replicated across Scotland

The award will not be allocated or judged on visual or aesthetic grounds but on the application of circular economy principles and whole life circular performance.

Support for your construction project

Adopting circular economy approaches to construction helps to conserve resources, and reduce carbon emissions, by “making things last”. Zero Waste Scotland is funded by the Scottish Government and the European Structural Fund to provide free support to help accelerate circular economy in the construction sector. Designers have an influential role with clients and teams in helping to develop a built environment fit for the future. Working together we can go further and faster in tackling climate change.

Contact us to start collaborating and make your future projects more circular. 


Editor pick keywords: 
circular economy, construction award, RIAS award
Close Search

Search form